Required School Readiness health and safety training must be completed by June 30, 2024, read more.

Page Header

About Us

Board of Directors

The Coalition’s board of directors is comprised of individuals from private sector business organizations and leaders of community organizations.  These board members provide governance for the Coalition by creating and directing the strategic initiatives that ensure high-quality programming that increases all children’s chances of achieving future educational success and becoming productive members of society.


Matthew Bruno, Board Chair
Amerant Bank N.A.

Dr. Daniel Armstrong, Vice-Chair
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine, Representative of Programs for Children with Disabilities

Loreen Chant, Treasurer
Health Foundation of South Florida

Iris Strachan, Secretary
Miami Dade College

Required Members

Gilda Ferradaz
Department of Children & Families

Dr. Denisse Barrera
Florida Department of Health - Miami-Dade County

Roderick E. Beasley
CareerSource South Florida

Dr. Eileen Fluney
Paradise Christian School & Development Center, Faith-Based Provider Representative

Dr. Carla Fry
Florida Department of Health - Monroe County

James Haj
The Children's Trust

Laurie Joasil
Department of Children and Families

Dr. Joycelyn Lawrence
Jessie Trice Community Health System

Lynn M. Maceyras 
Miami-Dade County Public Schools

Honorable Holly Merrill Raschein
Monroe County Mayor

Dr. Maite Riestra-Quintero
Community Action and Human Services Department

Jennifer Roig
Roig Academy, Private Provider Representative

Private Sector Business Members

Sandi Bisceglia
Southernmost Leadership Network, Inc.

Chereen Coile
True North Classical Academy

Chuck Mohr
FishVerify LLC

Alfred Sanchez
Greater Miami Chamber of Commerce

Aaron Slavens
Holland & Knight LLP

Richie Tandoc


Lisa Taylor
Monroe County Public Schools

Founding Chair

David Lawrence Jr.
Florida Children’s Movement

Board Bylaws (PDF) (updated 09/2021)